Thursday, May 24, 2018
Text Size

June 2017 General Mtg. Minutes

Western North Carolina Pilots Association

General Membership Meeting

Lacy Griffin Building

Asheville Regional Airport

20 June 2017


I.  Call to Order by President Tim Anderson at 6:45 PM 


Tim began the meeting by thanking Frank and Elizabeth Henry for organizing the food for the meeting.  Tim also welcomed several parents who were attending the WNCPA Educational Foundation’s grant awards program.  Tim also recognized other visitors to the meeting.  Tim congratulated Andrew Moore on his attaining his Private Pilot license.  Andrew is the son of WNCPA member and Board membership chairman Jeff Moore.

Secretary: (Tim Fox) The minutes of the last two general membership meetings of 17 April and 16 May 2017 were approved.  

Treasurer: (Elizabeth Henry) Elizabeth announced that the Association has $14,842.02 in the bank.

Membership: (Jeff Moore) Dave Bolser announced that Jeff Moore is now the contact for all things dealing with membership, name tags, certificates, and dues.  He is also the contact for purchasing WNCPA logoed items; hats ($10.00), shirts ($20.00, and Jackets ($40.00). 

Programs: (Cindy Carter) Cindy stated that she will be gone for most of October doing FAAST presentations and will be unable to do the program she was planning to present. She has secured the commitment of John Pruden who is with PF Flyers at Donaldson Airfield (KGYH).  He will give a presentation on the FAA’s NextGen mandated Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) system. Arnie Andresen will be the POC for John Pruden during her absence.

Fly-Outs:  The June fly-out will be to the Hamilton/Owens Airport (KCUB) in Columbia, SC, with lunch at Doc’s Bar-B-Que.

Tim introduced Michael Reisman, the Deputy Executive Director for Development and Operations of the Asheville Airport Authority.  Mike began his presentation with a brief history of Project SOAR then gave an interesting and informative presentation of the status of the runway improvement/replacement project, the status of the new parking garage project and perhaps most importantly from a safety standpoint he pointed out some temporary issues that may present themselves to taxiing aircraft.  More specifically, Mike wanted to ensure that the pilots are aware that the taxiway alpha/numeric designations will change as well as the runway hold bars will relocate as the project progresses toward completion. Mike also stated that the 5-year, four phase project is the largest financially and in scope for Asheville Regional Airport since it opened in 1961.  Phase I was completed in 2014, Phase II was completed in 2015 and Phase III should be completed by the end of 2017.  Phase IV will begin this year and is scheduled to be completed by the summer of 2018.  The target commissioning date for the new runway remains 7 December 2017. Mike concluded his presentation with a short question and answer period. 

Announcements:  Tim announce that there will be A-B Tech and WNCPA Open House on Monday 26 June.  All are invited and he asked that if anyone knows of anybody interested in an aviation career to let them know about the open house. Tim also reminded everyone about the Association’s annual cookout at the Signature Flight Services hanger #13 on Tuesday 18 July beginning at 6:15 PM. 

II. New Business:  None

The meeting adjourned at 7:15 PM

Feature Program: Arnie Andresen Chairman of the Educational Foundation began the awards program by recognizing and thanking the selection committee for their hard work and diligence in selecting the 2017 awardees.  The members of the Selection Committee were:  Garry Hancock (Education Foundation Chairman), Andy Guenette (Educational Foundation’s Treasurer), Ruffin Benton, Anne Osmer, and Nancy Marstall.  Other members of the Education Foundation Board of Directors are Phil Kelley, Charlisle “Link” Lincoln.  The Foundation had a very successful year of fund raising and as a result the Foundation could increase the total amount of the grants and awarded them in three monetary categories.  The awardees are:

$500.00 Class B Grant

Cassandra Kohlhepp

$2,000.00 Grant

Rob Bruner

Joseph Carver

Blake Williams

$2,500.00 Grant

Malena Modirzadeh

Melena Mullens

Christopher Strader

Each awardee present gave a brief synopsis of how he/she became interested in aviation and what his/her goals and aspirations are for the future. Congratulations and best of luck to all grant awardees!

Submitted by: Tim Fox, Secretary